A Defining Day: Everything You Need to Know About Super Tuesday


Wil Martin

Senior Anna Hallmark contemplates campaign posters in preparation of super tuesday. To find your polling place go to https://vt.ncsbe.gov/PPLkup/.

With the media raging over presidential candidates, streets covered with campaign signs, and the talk of politics constantly in the air, the battle that is the 2020 Election has truly started to intensify. Tuesday, March 3rd is “Super Tuesday” – the day when the greatest number of states hold their primary elections or caucuses. Citizens of 14 U.S. states and 1 U.S. territory will be voting on Super Tuesday, including Alabama, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, the territory of American Samoa, and North Carolina. 

North Carolina has a semi-closed primary, which means that voters affiliated with a specific party must vote on that party’s ballot, and unaffiliated voters can choose which party’s ballot they wish to vote on. It’s important to note that North Carolina does not require voters to produce I.D. when they go to vote, and if you are currently 17 but will be 18 before the general election on November 3rd, you are allowed to vote in the primary election. 

One of the most important things to do before any election is research. Most voters already have an idea going in of what presidential candidate they want to vote for, but the ballot isn’t only presidential. It also contains votes for the Senate, the House of Representatives, Governor, and other various state and district-level positions. In advance of voting, make sure to check out a sample ballot (if you click here and search for yourself, a sample ballot will be provided) and do thorough research on candidates running for all offices. 

To help your research process, provided below is a brief list of candidates for a few specific offices, their experience, and links to their websites. Note that this list excludes NC Lieutenant Governor, NC Attorney General, NC Superintendent of Public Instruction, NC Auditor, NC Commissioner of Agriculture, NC Treasurer, NC Commissioner of Insurance, NC Commissioner of Labor, and NC Secretary of State. It also excludes District and County offices. Please do your own research on these positions!

For U.S. Senate:

  • Thom Tillis (R) – The current incumbent, served in the U.S. Senate since 2014. Before that, he served in the North Carolina House of Representatives for 8 years and was the Speaker of the House from 2011 to 2014.
  • Cal Cunningham (D) – Was a member of the North Carolina Senate from 2001-2003 and served as Vice Chairman of the Governor’s Crime Commission. He is an Army veteran of Iraq and Afghanistan and is a major in the United States Army Reserve.
  • Trevor M. Fuller (D) – He is president of The Fuller Law Firm, P.C., served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Mecklenburg County Bar, and served on the Board of Governors of the North Carolina Advocates for Justice.
  • Atul Goel (D) – He is an active duty Flight Surgeon in the U.S. Air Force, contractor to the Department of Defense in relation to veteran’s disabilities, and is the Medical Consultant for the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation. 
  • Larry Holmquist (R) – Worked in the banking industry and served as the campaign manager for a 2014 North Carolina District 6 U.S. House candidate. 
  • Sharon Y. Hudson (R) – She is a small business owner, was the First Vice President of North Mecklenburg Republican Women, and has served in the MeckGOP. 
  • Erica D. Smith (D) – Was a former Chapter President of Blacks in Government, served as the County Chair of the Northampton County Democratic party, and is a current high school math, physics, and chemistry teacher. 
  • Steve Swenson (D) – Little to no information found.
  • Paul Wright (R) – Was a Judge of the District Court and was appointed a Superior Court Judge for North Carolina. 

For the U.S. House of Representatives for District 9:

  • Dan Bishop (R) – The current incumbent, served as a Mecklenburg County Commissioner from 2004-2008. Was elected to the North Carolina House of Representatives in 2014 and the North Carolina Senate in 2016. 
  • Harry Southerland (D) – Practiced law for 10 years, founded the Southerland Group, Inc., was elected to the Hoke County Board of Education, and is a Hoke County Commissioner currently serving as Vice Chairman. 
  • Cynthia L. Wallace (D) – Is a Chairwomen of the 9th Congressional District, was the 2nd Vice Chair of the Mecklenburg County Democratic Party, is a member of the State Executive Committee, and was a delegate in the 2012 DNC.
  • Marcus M. Williams (D) – Has practiced law for 40 years, was an Executive Director of Regional or Statewide Legal Services Programs, was Chairman of the New Hanover County Democratic Party’s Platform Committee, and was Third Vice Chair of the New Hanover County Democratic Party.
  • Clayton W. Brooks III (D) – a Baptist minister who spent the last 10 years working for nonprofits and was Political Director for Dan McCready for Congress. 

For North Carolina Governor:

  • Roy Cooper (D) – The current incumbent, served in both the North Carolina House of Representatives and the North Carolina Senate, was elected the North Carolina Attorney General, and was elected Governor in 2016.
  • Dan Forest (R) – Was an Office President and Senior Partner in North Carolina’s largest architecture firm, was elected Lieutenant Governor, and sits on the State Board of Education State Board of Community Colleges.  
  • Ernest T. Reeves (D) – Is a retired United States Army Communications Officer and started Jesusa Coffee, LLC  and Jesusa Entertainment, LLC.
  • Holly Grange (R) – A graduate of West Point, serves in the North Carolina House of Representatives, serves as the Deputy Conference Chair, and is the Director of Community Relations at Osprey Global Solutions. 

For presidential candidates:

  • On the Republican ballot – Donald J. Trump, Joe Walsh (has since withdrawn), and Bill Weld
  • On the Democratic ballot – Deval Patrick (has since withdrawn), Bernie Sanders, Tom Steyer (has since withdrawn), Elizabeth Warren, Marianne Williamson (has since withdrawn), Andrew Yang (has since withdrawn), Michael Bennet (has since withdrawn), Joe Biden, Michael Bloomberg, Cory Booker (has since withdrawn), Pete Buttigieg (has since withdrawn), Julian Castro (has since withdrawn), John Delaney (has since withdrawn), Tulsi Gabbard, and Amy Klobuchar (has since withdrawn)

Calling all Warriors: If you are eligible, let your voice be heard and make sure you go out and vote this Tuesday!